Best Calorie Counter Apps in 2026: 10 Compared
By the DietX team · Updated · 8 min read
There is no single best calorie counter app, so we compared 10 on how you log food, what's free and what it costs, using each app's own pages. Our own pick is DietX, which we make, for fast logging by photo, voice or barcode with meal plans. Cronometer is the better choice for nutrient detail and a free barcode scanner, and MacroFactor for serious macro coaching.
How to choose the best calorie tracker app
Four things separate these apps. Decide which one matters most to you before you read the table.
Logging speed. You'll repeat this several times a day, so friction adds up. In a study of 142 adults, self-monitoring took 23.2 minutes a day in the first month and 14.6 by the sixth, and logging more often was tied to more weight loss. Photo, voice and barcode logging all aim to shorten that chore. There is a trade-off: a 2020 review found that less burdensome methods are less accurate, so you'll still want to check and correct entries.
Food data. Search and barcode logging depend on the food database, the list of foods and nutrition values behind the app. MyFitnessPal lists 20.5M+ foods including restaurant dishes, YAZIO lists 4M+ and Cronometer lists 1M+ verified foods. A bigger list helps you find an unusual snack, and a verified one helps you trust the number.
The free plan. "Free" can mean almost anything. Cronometer's $0 plan includes a barcode scanner, while MyFitnessPal's free plan has ads and keeps the scanner for Premium. We go through what each free plan actually gives you in a separate guide.
Price. Compare the cost of a full year. MyFitnessPal Premium is listed at $19.99 a month or $79.99 a year on the US App Store, so paying monthly for 12 months comes to $239.88, about three times the yearly plan.
The 10 best calorie counter apps compared
Prices are US App Store listings. "Not stated" means the app's own pages didn't settle it. It doesn't mean the feature is missing, so check inside the app before you pay.
| App | Photo | Voice | Barcode | Free plan | Paid plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DietX (our pick) | Yes | Yes, plus typed descriptions | Yes | None; free to download, with a free trial | $17.99 to $29.99/year, $5.99 to $11.99/month, $4.99 to $5.99/week |
| MyFitnessPal | Premium only | Premium only | Premium only | Food, weight and exercise tracking, with ads | $19.99/month or $79.99/year; also listed at $9.99 and $49.99 |
| Cal AI | Yes; results need a subscription | Describe a meal; voice not stated | Yes | 3-day free trial; free plan not stated | In-app purchases $2.99 to $29.99; plan names not shown |
| Lose It! | Premium | AI Voice, Premium | Premium | Calorie tracking, weight loss plan, community | Premium $9.99 to $79.99; Lifetime $49.99 to $59.99 |
| YAZIO | Yes; tier not stated | Not stated | Listed under the free tracker | Free tracker, no signup | "12 Months" $23.90 or $47.90, "3 Months" $23.99, "Semi-Annual" $34.99 |
| Cronometer | Gold only | Gold only; text search free | Free | Basic $0, with custom macro and micronutrient targets | Gold $59.99/year or $10.99/month |
| Lifesum | Yes; tier not stated | Voice and text; tier not stated | Yes; tier not stated | Free with limited features | $49.99/year, $14.99/3 months, $7.49/month; other prices listed |
| fatsecret | Image recognition; tier not stated | Not stated | Yes; tier not stated | Yes | Premium through in-app purchases, $10.49 to $59.99 |
| MacroFactor | Meal photos not stated | Not stated | Yes | None; 7-day trial | $11.99/month, $47.99/6 months, $71.99/year |
| SnapCalorie | Yes | Voice notes | Label scanner; barcode not stated | Core features free | $19.99/month or $149/year |
Who each calorie counter app suits
DietX: fast logging with meal plans (our pick)
We make it, so weigh this accordingly. We pick it because all four ways of logging sit in one app: photo, typed description, voice or barcode, and you can edit any item before saving. It sets daily calorie and macro targets from your age, height, weight, activity level and goal, adds personal meal plans and recipes, and logs water, sleep, steps and workouts.
The limits are real. There's no free tier: it's free to download with a free trial, and Premium is a subscription. It's young, with 4.5 from just 20 ratings. We have no accuracy figure, and the listing itself says estimates may vary. If that still sounds right, see how DietX works.
MyFitnessPal: the established name with a usable free plan
It has the longest history here, a far larger user base than DietX and the biggest food list we could confirm, at 20.5M+ foods. It also has an AI Coach and connects to 40+ trackers and smartwatches. The free plan covers food, weight and exercise tracking, with ads, which suits you if you don't mind typing entries. Meal Scan, Voice Log, the barcode scanner and custom macro goals need Premium, and Premium Plus adds meal planning and 1500+ recipes. If those paywalls are why you're reading this, see our MyFitnessPal alternatives by reason for switching.
Cal AI: photo-first logging, if you're happy to subscribe
Its own wording is "Food scanning analysis results require a subscription", so treat it as a paid app with a 3-day free trial. You can also describe a meal or scan a barcode. MyFitnessPal announced it had acquired Cal AI on 2 March 2026, and Cal AI continues as a standalone product.
Lose It!: a free plan with some structure
The free plan includes calorie tracking, a weight loss plan and a community, so it suits you if you want more than a blank diary. Photo logging, AI Voice and barcode scanning need Premium. A Lifetime option is listed at $49.99 to $59.99, which may appeal if you dislike renewals, though what it includes isn't stated.
YAZIO: starting without an account
Its free tracker needs no signup, and barcode scanning is listed under it. You also get 4M+ foods and 2,900+ recipes, and Pro adds custom meal plans. AI photo tracking exists, but the tier isn't stated.
Cronometer: nutrient detail
If vitamins and minerals matter to you, this beats DietX. It has lab-verified foods, micronutrient depth and a free barcode scanner, and the $0 Basic plan lets you set custom macro and micronutrient targets. It runs on web, iOS and Android. Photo and voice logging need Gold.
Lifesum: meal plans with grocery lists
Lifesum suits you if you'd like to be told what to cook and what to buy. It has meal plans with grocery lists and thousands of recipes, which is more than DietX offers on the shopping side. Photo, voice, text and barcode logging are all listed, with tiers not stated, and its free option is described as "free to download and use with limited features."
fatsecret: when cost decides
Its listing says "Best of all, fatsecret is free." Premium adds meal plans and water tracking. Image recognition and barcode scanning appear in its general features, with tiers not stated.
MacroFactor: macro coaching
MacroFactor is built for serious macro coaching, and if that's your priority it's a better fit than DietX. There's no free plan, only a 7-day trial. It scans barcodes and offers AI label scanning and AI recipe import; meal photo logging isn't stated. Our macro tracker comparison goes deeper.
SnapCalorie: AI photo logging at no cost
It logs from photos and says its "core features are completely free." It also has voice notes, a nutrition label scanner and a free meal planner. That's a real advantage over DietX if you won't pay. Whether it scans barcodes isn't stated. To see which other apps charge for photos, read who charges for AI photo logging.
How to try one before you pay
We ran no tests of our own for this page. Everything above comes from the apps' own pages, so speed and food coverage are yours to judge. MyFitnessPal and MacroFactor list 7-day trials, Cal AI lists 3 days, and DietX has a free trial whose length isn't stated. Use yours on purpose:
- Log a normal weekday plus one messy meal, such as a restaurant dinner or a home-cooked stew.
- Compare a packaged food with the numbers on its label.
- Fix a wrong entry and notice how long that takes.
- Check when the trial turns into a paid plan, and cancel first if the app doesn't suit you.
Some vendor sites quote accuracy percentages. Those are the vendors' own figures, and our sources include no independent head-to-head test of these apps, so we don't rank them on accuracy. Our guide to how accurate AI calorie counters are covers what the research does show. If you're brand new to this, start with our beginner's guide to counting calories.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best calorie counter app?
It depends on what you need. Our own pick is DietX, which we make, for fast logging by photo, voice or barcode with meal plans. Cronometer suits nutrient detail, MacroFactor suits macro coaching, and SnapCalorie suits free AI photo logging.
What is the best free calorie counter app?
Cronometer’s $0 Basic plan includes a barcode scanner and custom nutrient targets. SnapCalorie says its core features are free, and YAZIO has a free tracker with no signup. MyFitnessPal is free with ads, but its barcode scanner needs Premium.
Is DietX free?
No. DietX is free to download and has a free trial, but it has no free subscription tier. Premium is a subscription. On the US App Store, yearly plans are listed at $17.99 to $29.99.
Is MyFitnessPal free?
It has a free plan for food, weight and exercise tracking, with ads. Meal Scan, Voice Log and the barcode scanner need Premium, listed at $19.99 a month or $79.99 a year on the US App Store.
Which calorie counter app is the most accurate?
We can’t name one. Our sources include no independent head-to-head test of consumer calorie apps, and percentages on vendor sites are the vendors’ own. Whichever app you use, check and correct its entries.
Sources
- Harvey et al. (2019), Obesity: Log Often, Lose More
- Review of the validity and feasibility of image-assisted methods for dietary assessment (2020), Int J Obes
- MyFitnessPal on the App Store
- YAZIO on the App Store
- Cronometer: Gold
- DietX on the App Store
- MyFitnessPal: Premium
- Cal AI
- Cal AI on the App Store
- Lose It! on the App Store
- YAZIO
- Cronometer on the App Store
- Lifesum
- Lifesum on the App Store
- fatsecret on the App Store
- MacroFactor on the App Store
- SnapCalorie
- SnapCalorie on the App Store
- TechCrunch: MyFitnessPal has acquired Cal AI
- NHS: Eating disorders
General information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or dietitian before changing your diet, especially if you are pregnant, under 18 or have a health condition. If tracking food makes you anxious or you have a history of disordered eating, please skip calorie counting and ask a professional for support.

